Biology’s Valerie Haywood named to governing board of Ohio-Project Kaleidoscope

Valerie Haywood

Valerie Haywood, senior instructor in the Department of Biology, recently joined the governing board of the Ohio-Project Kaleidoscope (PKAL), a region network of the national organization. Haywood will be part of the Ohio-PKAL mission to

Amanda Shaffer elected as vice-chair of Higher Education Recruitment Consortium national advisory board

The Higher Education Recruitment Consortium (HERC) elected Amanda Shaffer, director of the Office of Faculty Development, to serve a two-year term as vice-chair of the Central Advisory Board. She began her term Oct. 26. Case

Nursing’s Stephanie Steiner named to Air and Surface Transport Nurses Association Board of Directors

Stephanie Steiner, director of the Dorothy Ebersbach Academic Center for Flight Nursing, was recently voted onto the Air and Surface Transport Nurses Association (ASTNA) Board of Directors. ASTNA is a nonprofit member organization that provides

Professor’s presentation ends with a twist

Tom Peterson and Mark Griswold

When President Barbara Snyder told Mark Griswold to keep standing after his presentation last week, he didn’t argue. It wasn’t only because it was her house and 75 guests were watching. The last time Snyder made

CWRU names first executive director for public safety and security

CWRU Police Shield

Case Western Reserve today announced the appointment of the university’s first executive director for public safety and security, Frank Demes. A 26-year veteran of the George Washington University Police Department, Demes will oversee the university’s

Stephanie Endy named associate VP for research in CWRU’s Office of Research and Technology Management

Stephanie Endy

Case Western Reserve University’s Office of Research and Technology Management (ORTM) has added Associate Vice President for Research Stephanie Endy as a key member to its administrative team. Endy, who began her new position Oct.

Celebrate appointment of Robert X. Gao to endowed professorship, department chair

The Case School of Engineering recently appointed Robert X. Gao as the Cady Staley Professor of Engineering and the chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. Gao joins Case Western Reserve University from

Interim leaders no more: Law’s Berg and Scharf named deans

Law School Deans Michael Scharf and Jessica Berg

Case Western Reserve President Barbara R. Snyder announced today that the Board of Trustees has approved the appointments of Jessica Berg and Michael Scharf as deans of the School of Law. The two have

2014-15 report on faculty promotions, emeritus appointments now available

The 2014-15 annual report on promotions and emeritus status is now available. This report lists faculty who were appointed to emeritus status since last year’s report or who were promoted to associate professor or professor

Law’s Peter Gerhart named interim president of Lake Erie College

Law’s Peter Gerhart named interim president of Lake Erie College

Peter Gerhart, professor of law and former dean of the School of Law, was selected as the interim president of Lake Erie College. He began his yearlong term Aug. 1, but still will teach