Radiology’s Mark Griswold earns medical school’s top honor

Dean Davis and Mark Griswold with Case Western Reserve Medal of Excellence in Health Science Innovation

Throughout his career, radiology professor Mark Griswold, PhD, has earned accolades for research and innovations in the field of imaging. Among many other breakthroughs, Griswold has contributed toward developing a robotically guided heart catheter

Engineering student earns Tau Beta Pi scholarship

Tau Beta Pi, the engineering honor society, awarded Shriya Srinivasan a $2000 scholarship for the 2014-2015 year. Tau Beta Pi Scholarships are awarded to junior members on a competitive basis of high scholarship, campus leadership

Pharmacology’s Krzysztof Palczewski receives Friedenwald Award for work in ophthalmology

Krzysztof Palczewski

The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) recently awarded Krzysztof Palczewski, chair of the Department of Pharmacology, the Friedenwald Award, which recognizes outstanding research in the basic or clinical sciences as applied

Law’s Juscelino Colares recognized for article on litigation

Law’s Juscelino Colares recognized for article on litigation

Southeastern Association of Law Schools (SEALS) presented Juscelino Colares, professor of law and associate director of the Frederick K. Cox International Law Center, with an award for one of the three best articles of

Economics’ Silvia Prina receives two research grants

Silvia Prina

Silvia Prina, associate professor of economics, won two research grants for the project “Delivering Conditional Cash Transfers via Savings Accounts: Default and Mental Accounting Mechanisms.” Prina was invited to present her research at the International Food

Staff members receive President’s Award for Distinguished Service, Robin Kramer Volunteer Award

cwru sign

Thursday, three staff members—Kathryn Schultz, Henry Hill and Theresa Wilson—received this year’s President’s Award for Distinguished Service, while Theresa Grigger received the inaugural Robin Kramer Volunteer Award. The annual awarding of the President’s Award for Distinguished

Weatherhead School’s Kalle Lyytinen received award for contributions to information systems field

Kalle Lyytinen, associate dean for research and Iris S. Wolstein Professor of Management Design, received the LEO Award from the Association for Information Systems (AIS). The LEO Award is named after the Lyons Electronic Office—the

Weatherhead School’s Tim Fogarty, Greg Jonas receive Best Paper Award

Tim Fogarty, professor of accountancy, and Greg Jonas, associate professor of accountancy, received the Best Paper Award for their paper “Author characteristics for major accounting journals: differences among similarities 1989–2009,” published in Issues in Accounting

Graduate student Allison Kipling, classmates launch 306 LLC with award money

Allison Kipling, a graduate student in the translational health technology master’s program at Case School of Engineering, launched a company to develop a product that started as a class project. She won $10,000 in

Bioengineering’s Anant Madabhushi, team awarded patent relating to radiologic imaging of tumors

Bioengineering’s Anant Madabhushi, team awarded patent relating to radiologic imaging of tumors

Anant Madabhushi, professor of biomedical engineering and a member of the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center, was awarded U.S. patent 8,774,479, titled “System and method for automated segmentation, characterization and classification of possibly malignant lesions and